LibGuides: Market Research: Country Analysis

Analysis

PESTEL Analysis
In-Depth Country Analysis

Every country provides unique challenges and opportunities for doing business. PESTEL is the commonly used framework for examining factors that may impact business in other countries.

The PESTEL framework includes Political, Economic, Social, Technological, Environmental and Legal issues that impact a company, industry, or target location.

Business Source Complete is the one of the best sources for PESTEL research. Interestingly, PESTEL also appears as PESTLE. You may want to search this using both spellings.

Find additional country analysis information under the In-depth Country Analysis tab above.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source for materials on all business topics. Also includes company and country profiles.
Search country name AND pestle; sort results to "newest first."
Provides full-text from over 2,000 journals and magazines. Also provides case studies.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive country reports which include information on economic conditions (incl. COVID-19 economic impact), public finances, detailed information on the labor force, demographics, consumption, income, imports, exports, foreign direct investments, health indicators, business culture and local habits, government structure, overview of stability and threats, and the political environment.
Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Marketline Country Profiles
Annual reports use the PESTLE framework to go into significant depth regarding economic and political conditions in over 50 countries. Many also include coverage of environmental and social issues. This is found within Business Source Complete. Run a search of "marketline country profiles" AND your country.
Political Risk Yearbook
Lengthy reports analyze potential regime changes, focusing on the risk to businesses. PRY is found in Business Source Complete: Run a search of "political risk yearbook" AND your country.
Commercial Banking Report
In-depth reports on the commercial banking industry from BMI Research. Covers country banking challenges and commercial bank performance. This is found within Business Source Complete: run a search of "commercial banking report" AND your country.
Business Ready
A World Bank annual series which assesses the business and regulatory environment in countries and regions.