LibGuides: Market Research: Industry Research

Find Industry Information

NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive 30-40p full-text industry surveys. Run a search of your company. Once you're looking at your company information-- off to the left, click on Industry Survey.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides lengthy industry profiles (30-50p) including industry analysis on trends, key innovations or developments, competitive pressures, Run a search on your company, then off to the left, under source types, select industry profile.
Provides full-text from over 2,000 journals and magazines. Also provides case studies.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive data on markets and industries, including market overviews, revenues, number of employees, as well as the latest information about the state of the industries, trends, and forecasts. Find this data under Reports, Industry Reports. Run a search here for your industry.
Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive data on markets and industries, including market overviews, revenues, number of employees, as well as the latest information about the state of the industries, trends, and forecasts. Find this data under Reports, Industry Reports. Run a search here for your industry.
Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Burea of Labor Statistics
Excellent source for information on specific industries, such as hiring and expense trends, industry sizes.
FRED
Build charts for various economic factors (assets, price index, personal consumption expenditures, export, income, trade, etc.), and factor in geographical location. Offers quite a bit of flexibility in chart building choices.

Ratios are used to measure the financial strengths and weaknesses of companies or industries.

Valuation Resources
Covers more than 400 industries. Includes overviews, key issues, trends and the industry's outlook as well as financial bench marking, compensation surveys and valuation resources.