Consumers | Demographics - Market Research - LibGuides at Lebanon Valley College

Consumer Analysis

Resources here (under the appropriate tabs) will help you learn about consumer behaviors, expenditures, income, and opinions.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Overview of what consumers are thinking, featuring survey data on usage, behavior and attitudes, opinions and preferences. Click on reports at top of screen, consumer and brand reports. Limit your search with the facets on the left.
Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

American Time Use Survey
Measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work; childcare; volunteering; and socializing
Consumer Expenditure Survey
Two surveys that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Pew Center Social & Demographic Trends
Studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure. Combines original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis.
Stats America
Excellent resource for statistics on the economy, education, population, housing, workforce and many other topics at various geographic levels.

Consumer Expenditures
Survey. U.S. Bureau of Labor statistics.
Wages by Area/Location
Wage and occupation data at national, regional, state, and metropolitan area levels from Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Income
Small area income and poverty data estimates at the national, state, and county level. Covers 1989 to 2011. U.S. Census Bureau.

Economy at a Glance
Unemployment, Consumer Price Index, both national and state-level data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Click on Economy at a Glance tab.
US Economy Overview
GDP by industry, GDP by State, Personal Income, International Investment and Trade. Bureau of Economic Analysis
Economic Research at the St. Louis Fed
The FRED data service has numerous charts and datasets looking at various parts of the economy.

American Customer Satisfaction Index
Provides the satisfaction index by industry, company, sector, and a few brands.
Consumer Confidence Survey
Provides basic information about consumer confidence, one indicator of consumer spending. University of Michigan.
American Time Use Survey
This survey measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Provides polling data on all sorts of public opinion topics.
Pew Research Center
Polling information on all sorts of topics.

Demographics

Demographics or demographic data are the characteristics of a human population. Commonly used demographics include sex, race, age, income, disabilities, mobility (in terms of travel time to work or number of vehicles available), educational attainment, home ownership, employment status, and even location.

Tabs focus demographics sources by geographical area.

ZoomProspector
Excellent tool for finding educational attainment, labor force, businesses/jobs, income/spending, housing, transportation, taxes for a particular geographical location.
Demographics
"Quick Facts"--search a county to access a fact sheet with per capita income and population data. U.S. Census.
Social & Economic Data
Provides social and economic data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs. Varied data sources from the 1970's-Present. State of the Cities Data Systems, U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development.

State Demographics
Type your state in the search box to retrieve demographical information.

Census Data
Search by topic, geography, or population. U.S. Census.
Population Projections
US Census Bureau, national and international population projections.
Population Studies
U.S. Census Bureau.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
1. Enter your country in the first search box
2. Enter the word "demographic" in the second search box
3. Press Search
4. On the left of the results, select Country Reports under Source Types
Provides full-text from over 2,000 journals and magazines. Also provides case studies.

Nation Master
Compiles data from hundreds of sources. Get maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease. With data compared across 305 countries and over 5,000 specific categories to analyze, this site offers a wealth of information. Select 'countries' to view the list offered and see information such as: Cost of Living, Environment, Industry, Lifestyle, etc.
US Census Bureau's International Database
Select a report, year(s), countries or region to search for data. Other information is available by clicking the Data tab, such as links to the World Population Summary, Country Ranking (by population), or Global Population Mapping.
globalEdge
Provides iformation on industries and demographics for consumers can be found. Find specific country by selecting from the drop-down box By Country.