How to Cite: APA

Information on citing references.

7th Edition

Note: The information below reflects the new APA 7th edition, which was published in January 2020.

APA

Book

Burgess, R. (2019). Rethinking global health: Frameworks of power. Routledge.

 

Chapter in an edited book with DOI

Balsam, K. E., Martell, C. R., Jones, K. P., & Safren, S. A. (2019). Affirmative cognitive behavior therapy with sexual and gender minority people. In G. Y. Iwamasa & P. A. Hays (Eds.), Culturally responsive cognitive behavior therapy: Practice and supervision (2nd ed., pp. 287-314). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000119-012

 

Edited book, no DOI

Hacker-Hughes, J. (Ed.). (2017). Military veteran psychological health and social care: Contemporary approaches. Routledge.

 


Data Set

Pew Research Center. (2018). American trends panel Wave 26 [Data set]. https//www.pewsocialtrends.org/dataset/american-trends-panel-wave-26/

 


Dissertation or Thesis

Library database

Hollander, M. M. (2017). Resistance to authority: Methodological innovations and new lessons from the Milgram experiment (Publication No. 10289373) [Doctoral dissertation, University of Wisconsin-Madison]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A & I.


Published online, not in a library database

Hutcheson, V. H. (2012). Dealing with dual differences: Social coping strategies of gifted and lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer adolescents [Master's thesis, The College of William & Mary]. William & Mary Digital Archive. https://digitalarchive.wm.edu/bitstream/handle/10288/16594/HutchesonVirginia2012.pdf

 


eBook

For ebooks, the format, platform, or device (e.g. Kindle) is no longer included in the reference.

Cain, S. (2012). Quiet: The power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking. Random House.

 


Encyclopedia Article

Graham, G. (2019). Behaviorism. In E. L. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Summer 2019 ed.). Stanford University.  https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/sum2019/entries/behaviorism/

 


Journal Article

Article with DOI

APA style prefers one use DOIs.  The DOI (digital object identifier) may be part of the citation or abstract of a record, or may be found on the first page of an article, especially in pdf format. To find a DOI go to https://www.crossref.org//guestquery To verify a DOI go to https://www.crossref.org//05researchers/58doi_resolver.html  

 

McCauley, S. M., & Christiansen, M. H. (2019). Language learning as language use: A cross-linguistic model of child language development. Psychological Review, 126(1), 1-51. https://doi.org/10.1037/rev0000126

 

Article with no DOI with a non-database URL

Ahmann, E., Tuttle, L. J., Saviet, M., & Wright, S. D. (2018). A descriptive review of ADHD coaching research: Implications for college students. Journal of Postsecondary Education and Disability, 31(1),17-39, https://www.ahead.org/professional-resources/publications/jped/archived-jped/jped-volume-31

 

Article in print or from a library database

Casaña, J., Calatayud,  J., Ezzatvar, Y., Vinstrup, J., Benítez, J., & Andersen, L. L. (2019). Preoperative high-intensity strength training improves postural control after TKA: Randomized-controlled trial. Knee Surgery, Sports Traumatology, Arthroscopy, 27(4), 1057-1066. 

 

Article from Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Mehrholz, J., Pohl, M., Platz, T., Kugler, J., & Elsner, B. (2018). Electromechanical and robot-assisted arm training for improving activities of daily living, arm function, and arm muscle strength after stroke. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD006876.pub5

 

 

Magazine Article

Print

Weir, K. (2017, January). Forgiveness can improve mental and physical health. Monitor on Psychology, 48(1), 30.

 

Web

Bergeson, S. (2019, January 4). Really cool neutral plasmas. Science, 363(6422), 33-34. https://doi.org/10.1126/science.aau7988

 

 

Music Recording

General form

Composer, A. (2020). Title of song. On Title of album. Production Company; Label. https//xxxx.

 

Single song

Beyonce. (2016). Formation [Song]. On Lemonade. Parkwood; Columbia.

 

 

Newspaper Article

Webpage on a news website

Avramova, N. (2019, January 3). The secret to a long, happy, healthy life? Think age-positive. CNN. https://www.cnn.com/2019/01/03/health/respect-toward-elderly-leads-to-long-life-intl/index.html

 

Online newspaper

Hess, A. (2019, January 3). Cats who take direction. The New York Times, C1.

 

 

  10-K

The Coca-Cola Company. (2015). Form 10-K 2015. Retrieved from Mergent Online database.

The Coca-Cola Company. (2015)). Form 10-K 2015. Retrieved from SEC EDGAR website https://www.sec.gov//edgar.shtml

 

  Streaming Video

Cutts, S. (2017, November 24). Happiness [Video]. Vimeo. https://vimeo.com/244405542

 

  Webpage

Martin, C. M. (2020, December 29). Be kind to yourself: How self-compassion can improve your resiliency.  Mayo Clinic. https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/adult-health/in-depth/self-compassion-can-improve-your-resiliency/art-20267193

 


 

Manual

APA Citation Tools

Citation tools automate formatting references. 

There are several citation tools that work with the APA style:

If you do use these tools, be sure to review your results carefully.

You are responsible for the accuracy of your paper's citations. 

Always refer to the Publication Manual of the APA for definitive information.

Image source:  Jim Thomas.  Wikimedia Commons.  CC-BY-SA-3.0.