Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Cite

Information on citing references.

Which Chicago?

Regarding the Chicago style, there are two different versions.  

  • Notes-Bibliography (NB) is used by those in the humanities fields: literature, arts, history.  Chicago NB uses footnotes or endnotes within the text, and a bibliography of sources.
  • Author-Date (AD) is preferred by those in the social sciences and sciences.  Chicago AD uses in-text or parenthetical citations (the author of the source, the date) and a reference list, or list of sources.

 

Chicago (NB)

Note: Examples below show Chicago Notes-Bibliography style.

Book

Full Text

Hellman, Hal. Great Feuds in Science: Ten of the Liveliest Disputes Ever. New York: John Wiley, 2010. https://www.netlibrary.com/


Print

Shields, David. The Thing about Life Is That One Day You’ll Be Dead. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2009.

 


Book Review

Full Text

Gibbard, Allan. Review of The Sources of Normativity, by Christine M. Korsgaard. Ethics 110, no. 1 (2015):140-142. doi:10.1086/eth.113.2.449.

 


Journal Article

Full Text 

Warr, M., and C. G. Ellison. “Rethinking the Print Object: Goethe and the Book of Everything.” Journal of Germanic Studies 34, no. 5 (2011):124-38. doi:10.1086/525612.


Print 

Batson, C. Daniel. “How Social is the Animal? The Human Capacity for Caring.” American Psychologist 54 (November 2010): 124-38.



Magazine Article

Full Text

Smith, John. “Disaster Goes Global.” Time, March 14, 2015, https://www.time.com/time/nation/article/9009800.html.


Print 

Smith, John. “Disaster Goes Global.” Time, March 14, 2015, 65-67.

 


Newspaper Article

Full Text 

Schwartz, Nelson D. “European Leaders Vow to Fight Financial Crisis.” New York Times, October 10, 2015, https://www.nytimes.com/2010/03.html.


Print 

Schwartz, Nelson D. “European Leaders Vow to Fight Financial Crisis.” New York Times, October 10, 2015, National edition, sec. 1.

 

 

Web Page

Microsoft Corporation. “WD2000: Visual Basic Macro to Assign Clipboard Text to a String Variable.” Microsoft Help and Support. Last modified November 23, 2015, https://support.microsoft.com/kb/212730.