ITG 499 | The Art of Survival

Search library databases to find magazine, newspaper, or journal articles.

Go to the library's homepage, click on the ARTICLES AND DATABASES tab in the blue search box.  Pull down on the subject bar, select all.

From the LVC A-Z Databases page, focus your database choices by subject and by the type of information you need, using the pull-downs at the top of the page..

• Databases by Subject

Limit your database search by choosing a specific subject.  Recognize, too, that sometimes your topic will straddle several subject areas (for example, gender wage gap could fall within business and also the sociology).  If this occurs, pick the database that's most appropriate, but consider exploring databases in other subject areas as well, since it's always best to get multiple points of views.

• Databases by Type

The type filter can be invaluable if you know what type of information you need: peer-reviewed journal articles, scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, etc. 

• LVC Library Research Guides

We have research guides for almost every major/department on campus, as well as for some classes (like this one).  Each guide has a page linking to the major databases in that field, often with advice on the best databases.

Locate journal articles on survival in the databases below. This is not a comprehensive list; for that, refer to the information in the box above. Your survival topic will drive which database is best--if you're looking at survival in politics, your choice would be a political science database.  A focus on the psychology of survival would be best served by a psychology database and so on...