Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Data Resources

Information on how to find and cite numeric data resources or data sets.

Data Libraries / Repositories

General Interest

  • DATA.gov  --  Provides access to datasets generated by the Federal Government and includes descriptions of the datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
  • Data on the Net  --  Links to websites offering numeric social science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, etc. Provided by University of California, San Diego.
  • Google Dataset Search.  Beta.  A good starting point, searches multiple data depositories.
  • Harvard Dataverse Network  --  The world's largest collection of social science research data.  Free and open to all researchers worldwide to share, cite, reuse and archive research data.  Registration required.
  • Internet Data Sources for Social Scientists  --  Alphabetical listing of websites offering datasets.  Cornell University.
  • re3data.org  --  Global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.

 

International

  • UKDataService   --  Provides access to over 6,000 digital data collections for research and teaching purposes.  Covers an extensive range of key economic and social data.
  • Social Science Data Archives  --  Australian Data Archive.

 

Natural Sciences

  • EOSDIS  --  NASA’s Earth science data from various sources – satellites, aircraft, field measurements, and various other programs. The vast majority of the data is free. 
  • NASA  --  Earth Science data. 
  • NCDC Data Services  --   The world’s largest provider of weather and climate data. Land-based, marine, model, radar, weather balloon, satellite, and paleoclimatic are just a few of the types of datasets available.
  • SEDAC   --  Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center, is one of the Distributed Active Archive Centers of the U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration. Focuses on human interactions in the environment.
  • British Geological Survey   --  Information and Data page has links to data catalogues and organizations.

Image source: Jorge Royan.  Göttweig Abbey Library, Austria.  CC BY-SA 3.0.  Wikimedia Commons.