| Library Instruction | Est. Teaching Time |
Focus | IL Standard |
| Citations | 20 min. | Style manuals, elements of a citation, resources to help create citations. | 2.5 |
| Databases -- Advanced | 25 min. | Keyword vs. subject searches, phrase searches, limiters, citation searches. | 2.2 |
| Databases -- Basic | 25 min. | Database selection, keyword searches, field searches, phrase searches, synonyms, narrow/broaden searches. | 2.2 |
| Evaluate | 25 min. | Evaluate information using the CRAAP method (Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, Purpose). | 3.2 |
| Find Background Info. | 15 min. | Find introductory or foundational information, subject encyclopedias, statistics. | 1.1 |
| Find Books | 20 min. | Find LVC-owned books, and books found in libraries around the world. Quick overview of call numbers and locations. | 2.3 |
| Find Business/Company Info. | 45 min. | Covers locating business, industry and company information. Includes finding ratios, financial information. | 2.3 |
| Find Legal Info. | 45 min. | Legislative: codes, bills. Judicial: case law, cases. Executive: regulatory laws, CFR, FR. | 2.3 |
| Interlibrary Loan / Tipasa | 15 min. | Intro to Tipasa / interlibrary loan. Covers Tipasa registration, placing a request, renewing, and finding status updates. | 2.3 |
| Keywords | 20 min. | Create keywords from topic statements, use keywords to search. | 1.1 |
| Plagiarism | 30 min. | Defines plagiarism and academic integrity, discusses how and why to properly give credit. | 5.2 |
| Primary, Secondary, Tertiary | 20 min. | Discusses the differences among primary, secondary, and tertiary sources, and how to locate them. | 1.2 |
| Zotero | 45 min. | Zotero basics: export citations from databases, create folders, and generate a bibliography. | 5.3 |
| Scholarly vs. General | 20 min. | Differentiate between general, trade, and scholarly periodicals. Includes information on the peer-reviewed process. | 1.2 |
| Search Strategy | 30 min. | Use boolean operators, nesting, field searches, limiters, subject terms. | 2.2 |
| Subject Specific Resources | 45 min. | Focus on subject approaches to a topic, subject specific databases, encylopedias, statistical sources, websites. | 2.2 |
| Topic Selection | 20 min. | How to select a topic, narrow and broaden the topic, create research questions, and form a thesis. | 1.1 |