Evidence-Based Resources - Communication Sciences & Disorders | SLP

What is EBP?

Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) is the framework for your clinical decision-making process.

It is the integration of

Clinical Expertise | Expert Opinion. The knowledge, judgment, and critical reasoning acquired through your training and professional experiences
Best Evidence. The best available information gathered from the scientific literature (external evidence) and from data and observations collected on your individual client (internal evidence)
Client | Patient | Caregiver Perspectives. The unique set of personal and cultural circumstances, values, priorities, and expectations identified by your client and their caregivers." (American Speech-Hearing-Language Association, EBP web page).

Find valuable EBP resources from the American Speech-Hearing-Language Association's Evidence-Based Practice webpage. Find information on how to format your PICO question, find EBP resources, and assess the information that you find on LVC's EBP LibGuide.

Evidence Based Resources

SpeechBITE
Speech Pathology Database for Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy (speechBITE™) is a free searchable database that gives you access to the best evidence across all areas of speech pathology intervention.
Evidence Maps
An Evidence Map is a searchable online tool designed to assist clinicians with making evidence-based decisions. Each Evidence Map highlights the importance of the three components of evidence-based practice—external scientific evidence, clinical expertise, and client perspectives—and provides the latest information related to the assessment, treatment, and service delivery for various communication disorders.
NeuroBITE
NeuroBITE (previously PsycBITE) is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour.

Systematic Reviews

ASHA Systematic Reviews
Systematic Reviews completed by ASHA's National Center for Evidence-Based Practice in Communication Disorders (N-CEP)

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Searches Cochrane Systematic Reviews.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
Largest medical database. Under Advanced Search, Publication Type, select Systematic Reviews, Meta-Analysis or Randomized Control Trial.
Covers medicine, biomedicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Contains full text for many of the journals. Coverage extends back to 1847, with full-text back to 1865.

Communication Sciences & Disorders | SLP

Highest Levels of Evidence

Thank You...

What is EBP?

Evidence Based Resources

Systematic Reviews