Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Where to Publish Scholarly Journal Articles

and what to consider when publishing a scholarly journal article.

Journal Prestige

What is an Acceptance Rate?

Acceptance rate (or rejection rate) is the ratio of the number of articles submitted to the number of articles published. Although acceptance rates are used to measure selectivity or prestige, they are, however, only one factor of many to consider.

How Does One Find Them?

Generally, the best way to locate information on acceptance rates is to visit the journal website and check the author guidelines section. 

Another option is to contact the journal editor directly.  If the editor won't supply the acceptance rate, ask how many submissions the journal receives a year. Calculate the rejection rate by dividing the number of articles published in that year by the number received. For example, a journal that receives fifty submissions annually and publishes only ten, has a rejection rate of 80 percent (returning 4 out of every 5 submissions), or an acceptance rate of 20%.

Additional resources for locating acceptance rates:

Is the Journal Affiliated with a College or Organization?

Professional Organizations

Many professional organizations or societies maintain websites that provide information on their mission, scholarly activities, and publications.

It's a good idea to check the organization/society website to confirm this information, since disreputable publishers may falsely claim their publication is affiliated with a scholarly organization.

Use Google, search the "name of the organization" within quotation marks. Check the website to see if they provide information about their mission, publications, activities.

University or College

Is the journal affiliated with a university? Since predatory journals may list universities as affiliates without the university's permission, check the university’s web site. 

Run a Google search of the "journal name" AND "the name of the university". Make sure that the results contain a webpage to the journal originating from the correct university/college URL.

What is the Circulation Rate?

Circulation rates tell one how many copies of the publication are distributed.

Where May I Find Circulation Rates?

Where is the Journal Indexed?

Make sure the journal is indexed in a database, otherwise it will be difficult for others to find your article. 

Be wary, too, of disreputable publishers who may falsely claim their journal is indexed in a particular database or with a particular vendor.

Always double check a publisher's claims.  

If the publisher tells you that a vendor (EBSCO or ProQuest, for example) indexes the journal--be leery.  Vendors like EBSCO and ProQuest produce many different databases; the publisher should provide you with a specific database name.

Find indexing information for your journal in The Serials Directory.


Where May I Find Journal Indexing Information?

  • The Serials Directory.  Provides indexing information for over 300,000 journals.
  • Journal Finder lists over 100,000 journal titles LVC has access to.  Most journals listed will provide a link to the database the journal is indexed within.
  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory provides information on where the journal is indexed in the abstracting & indexing section of the journal record.
  • LVC subscribes to over 200 databases; most contain journal title lists.  
  • EBSCO title lists.
  • ProQuest title lists.
  • JSTOR title list.

Not enough time to track down this information?  Contact an LVC Librarian. We'll be happy to find where the journal is indexed.

What are Journal Metrics?

Metrics measure the quality and impact of a journal, illuminating citation trends and patterns within journals and their subject fields. Journal metrics help one to:

  • Track citation patterns within journals; 
  • Select highly-cited journals;
  • Determine an author's impact.

Where May I Find Journal Metrics?


What Do These Metrics Measure?

Article Influence Measures how impactful the average article is within a journal. Calculated by using the Eigenfactor score divided by the number of articles published in journal. 
CiteScore The number of citations made in the current year to articles in the previous three years of the journal, divided by the total number of articles in the previous 3 years of the journal. CiteScore includes all sources and document types
Eigenfactor Scores the importance of a journal; said to be more robust than the impact factor.  Similar to the 5-Year Journal Impact Factor except that it weeds out self-citations. Covers both the hard sciences and the social sciences.
5 Year Journal Impact Factor Shows how often the journal has been cited in the most recent five years. Calculated by the number of citations to articles from the most recent five full years, divided by the total number of articles from the most recent five full years. 
h Index Accounts for quantity (number of articles) and quality (defined as number of citations). A journal's h-index is the number of articles in a journal [h] that have received at least [h] citations over a citation period. 
            

IPP

            
Impact per Publication. Also known as RIP (raw impact per publication), the IPP is number of current-year citations to papers from the previous three years, divided by the total number of papers in those three previous years.
Journal Cited Half Life             

For the current Journal Citation Reports year, the median age of journal articles cited.

            
Journal Immediacy Index Shows how often the journal is cited during the current year.   Calculated by the number of citations to articles from the current year, divided by the total number of articles from the current year. 
Journal Impact Factor Shows how highly cited the average article in a journal is relative to others in its discipline. Calculated by the number of citations made in the current year to articles in the previous two years, divided by the total number of citable articles from the previous two years. 
Normalized Eigenfactor Turns the Eigenfactor into a multiplier. A score of two is twice as good as a score of one; a score of twenty is four times as good as a score of five.
SCImago Journal Rank Accounts for the number of citations received by a journal and the importance or prestige of the journal where the citations come from. This is a ratio of the average number of weighted citations received in a year over the number of documents published in the journal in the previous three years. 
SJR This metric doesn't consider all citations of equal weight; it takes into account the prestige of the citing journal.
SNIP If there are fewer total citations in a research field, then citations are worth more in that field: Source Normalized Impact per Paper weights citations based on the number of citations in a field. 

Beware.  Fake Metrics.

There are many fake impact factors and bogus metrics.  Before you reply upon a metric, make sure it's valid:  

Image source:  Wikimedia Commons. Public domain.

What is Peer-Reviewed?

Peer review is a process where scholars or scientists (“peers”) evaluate the quality of other scholar's work before it is published in a journal. The peer review process--also called refereed--ensures rigor, novelty, correctness and consistency; it is one of the gold standards of science.

Seven Common Types of Peer-Review

Image source: Editage Insights.