Where to Publish Scholarly Journal Articles: Open Access

Information on publishing in a scholarly journal.

What is Open Access?

The term open access refers to the free and unrestricted online availability of journal literature. 

Specific features of open access are clarified in various public statements, including the Budapest Open Access Initiative, the Bethesda Statement on Open Access Publishing, and the Berlin Declaration on Open Access.

Peter Suber's Open Access Overview provides good background information.

For help evaluating open access journals consult the Open Access Journal Quality Indicators.

Open Access Resources

Open Access Repositories | Discipline

For a complete list of subject specific open access repositories, check Open DOAR.

Depository Subject Description
AgEcon Agricultural and applied economics. A free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature including working papers, conference papers, and journal articles.
arXiv  Computer science, mathematics, physics, quantitative biology, finance, and statistics. Repository of electronic preprints (known as e-prints) approved for publication after moderation.
bioRxiv  Life sciences. Pronounced bio-archive, bioRxiv is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints.
Cogprints Psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics, and many areas of computer science, philosophy, biology, medicine, anthropology, and any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that focus on the study of cognition.

 

Repository for self-archive papers.

PubMed Central Biomedical and life sciences. Free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
RePEc Economics. Not a repository in the strict sense of the word, but rather a decentralized bibliographic database with links to full texts.  About half of the 1.5 million publications are freely accessible.

SocArXiv  

Social sciences. Open archive of social science research.
SSRN Economics and business studies Social Science Research Network is the largest disciplinary repository of publications.