LibGuides: Exercise Science: Refine

Refine

Be prepared to be flexible with your research question or thesis.

If you find too much information, your topic/thesis may be too broad. You will need to narrow or focus it.

If you are finding very little information, your topic/thesis may be too specific, narrow, specialized or current. It may be difficult to find enough information to write your paper. In this case, you will need to broaden your topic or thesis.

Broaden

Broaden Your Topic
Generalize	Generalize your topic, or explore related topics or issues. If your topic is the treatment of shoulder impingement syndrome in overhead athletes with Kinesio taping, consider expanding that slightly to explore the use of athletic tape in shoulder injuries.
Currency	If your topic has just occurred, there won't be books or journal articles available just yet. Choose an alternative topic that is not so recent.
Database Choice	Use other databases in your subject area, or consider checking databases in a related subject area (which might cover the topic from a different perspective, for example, education or psychology).
Synonyms	Use a thesaurus to find synonyms for your topic. When reading background information, note how your topic is expressed in these materials. When you find citations in an article database, note the terms being used by experts in the field.
Related	Explore related issues--what are some of the other methods used for dealing with overhead athlete shoulder injuries?
Expand Remove	Expand or remove: location, time period, aspect, event, population, person/group.

Broaden Your Topic

Generalize

Generalize your topic, or explore related topics or issues. If your topic is the treatment of shoulder impingement syndrome in overhead athletes with Kinesio taping, consider expanding that slightly to explore the use of athletic tape in shoulder injuries.

Currency

If your topic has just occurred, there won't be books or journal articles available just yet. Choose an alternative topic that is not so recent.

Database Choice

Use other databases in your subject area, or consider checking databases in a related subject area (which might cover the topic from a different perspective, for example, education or psychology).

Synonyms

Use a thesaurus to find synonyms for your topic. When reading background information, note how your topic is expressed in these materials. When you find citations in an article database, note the terms being used by experts in the field.

Related

Explore related issues--what are some of the other methods used for dealing with overhead athlete shoulder injuries?

Expand

Remove

Expand or remove: location, time period, aspect, event, population, person/group.

Narrow

Narrow Your Topic
Time	Modern time period vs. historical perspective
Location	Town, city, state, nation, country
Population	Age, race, gender, nationality, ethnic group, occupation
Event or Aspect	Focus on an event within your topic: shoulder injury prevention. Or consider a particular aspect: historical, sociological, psychological
Person or Group	Related to your topic: overhead athletes, middle-aged, football players, soccer players, adolescents