LibGuides: How to Identify Scholarly Journal Articles: Find

Search

Search for scholarly journal articles, as well as general articles (or newspaper articles) in library databases.

The best library databases for articles are listed below.

Find Articles

The library has over 200 databases, many of which will provide you with scholarly journal articles. Best to start there; use the subject pull down bar to select your topic's subject, then use the type pull-down bar to select scholarly journal articles. This'll allow you to choose the best database for your needs. Listed below are just a very few of our databases.

After you've run your search, most databases will offer a academic journal or scholarly (peer-reviewed) limiter off to the left.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Covers virtually every discipline and subject area. Find here full-text academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Largest psychological journal article database. Covers the contents of over 2,000 journal titles as well as book chapters in behavioral science and mental health.
Covers the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and more. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,200 periodicals in dozens of languages.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on major religions, faiths, denominations presented in many different languages. Includes journal articles, books, reviews and essays.
Important topics covered include: Biblical Studies, World Religions, Church History, and Religion in Social Issues.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles from essential biology and agricultural research journals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Provides full-text from over 2,000 journals and magazines. Also provides case studies.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Largest database of education journals and research reports.
Provides access to more than 1.6 million records for scholarly journal articles and ERIC documents (usually research reports), dissertations, conference proceedings--all focused on education.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
Largest database of journal articles in the medical field.
Covers medicine, biomedicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Contains full text for many of the journals. Coverage extends back to 1847, with full-text back to 1865.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles found in over 800 social science journal titles.
Subjects covered include: gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.

To find trade publications in library databases, run your search first. Off to the left, under the Source Type limit, note there is a trade publications limiter.

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Largest psychological journal article database. Covers the contents of over 2,000 journal titles as well as book chapters in behavioral science and mental health.
Covers the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and more. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,200 periodicals in dozens of languages.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on major religions, faiths, denominations presented in many different languages. Includes journal articles, books, reviews and essays.
Important topics covered include: Biblical Studies, World Religions, Church History, and Religion in Social Issues.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles from essential biology and agricultural research journals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Provides full-text from over 2,000 journals and magazines. Also provides case studies.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Largest database of education journals and research reports.
Provides access to more than 1.6 million records for scholarly journal articles and ERIC documents (usually research reports), dissertations, conference proceedings--all focused on education.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
Largest database of journal articles in the medical field.
Covers medicine, biomedicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Contains full text for many of the journals. Coverage extends back to 1847, with full-text back to 1865.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles found in over 800 social science journal titles.
Subjects covered include: gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.

Find magazines in Readers' Guide or Readers' Guide Retro.

Readers' Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Covers articles from popular magazines on a wide variety of subjects. 1983- present.
Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to more than 3 million magazine articles published between 1890-1982. Covers a wide variety of subjects.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access over 14,000 regional, national, and international full-text news sources through the Newsbank Access World News Research Collection (2024 edition).