Biography - HIS 126 | U.S. History Since 1865 - LibGuides at Lebanon Valley College

Articles

Biography Index Past and Present
Biography Index searches over 3,000 periodicals and 2,000 books for biographical articles. Besides biographies and autobiographies, you’ll find citations to interviews, obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, and memoirs.
Besides biographies and autobiographies, you’ll find citations to interviews, obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, and memoirs.

Where Should I Begin?

Find book-length biographies easily in Bishop Library's Catalog or in WorldCat, a database of books found in worldwide libraries.

Shorter biographical articles of 1-10 pages in length may be found in print Reference books--American National Biography, or in the Dictionary of American National Biography.

Biography Index: Past and Present will provide you with both articles and book information on your person.

Image source: Library of Congress. 1904. Alexander Graham Bell. Public Domain.

More Books...

WorldCat
Search for books from the world's libraries--WorldCat contains 1,634,869,510 records from over 77,000 libraries. Best search is your person's name as a SUBJECT.

Bishop Library Catalog

Find biographical books owned by LVC Library. Input your person as last name, first name.

Biographical Sources--Books

REF books are located on the main level of Bishop Library. Other books without the REF designation will be located on the upper level.

African American National Biography
Call Number: REF E 185.96 .A4466

ISBN: 9780195160192

"Presenting African American history through the lives of its people, the African American National Biography includes articles on the lives of 4,000 men and women." Covers the years 1790-1950.
American National Biography
Call Number: REF E 185.96 .A4466

ISBN: 0195206355

Biographies of more than 18,700 deceased (prior to 1996) men and women who were significant in politics, scholarship, science, sports, business, theater, film, and activism. Succeeds the Dictionary of American Biography.
The Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives
Call Number: REF CT 213 .S37

ISBN: 0684804921

Original scholarly biographies of 3-4,000 notable Americans.
The Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives: Sports
Call Number: GV 697 .A1 S42 2002 v. 1-2 Upper Level

ISBN: 0684806657

Original biographies of 500 athletes, team owners, sports promoters and coaches. Covers living and deceased individuals from the 19th century to the present day.