Articles - HIS 126 | U.S. History Since 1865 - LibGuides at Lebanon Valley College

Where to Begin

The best database for American history is America: History and Life.

Image source: Ground zero, New York City, N.Y. Sept. 17, 2001. U.S. Navy photo by Chief Photographer's Mate Eric J. Tilford. Public domain. Wikimedia Commons.

Find Journal Articles

Academic Search Ultimate
Provides mostly full-text articles. Useful for information on entertainment or pop culture topics.
America: History & Life
Provides citations to articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective, 1907 - 1984
Covers humanities journal articles from 1907-1984. Includes history.
Google Scholar
Multi-disciplinary; a supplement to more comprehensive and authoritative library databases. Scholarly journal articles.
Should *never* be the only database you search. Use it to supplement more comprehensive and authoritative library databases.

Primo
Primo is a discovery search tool that helps you to easily find all types of LVC Library resources. Use Primo to begin your research or to find additional resources. Primo does not search everything the library has access to; it should not be used exclusively. It can, however, be a valuable additional resource. Primo search results include library catalog items, database and journal content, open access resources and more.

Humanities Source
Journal article index includes coverage of history.
Covers archaeology, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, literary and social criticism, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, theology.
JSTOR
Full-text journal articles (newest are five years prior to current year). Difficult to search. May be useful for finding some articles on U.S. history. Do a TITLE search for best results.
Covers the arts and humanities, education, law, social sciences, biology, general science. Does not provide the latest 3-5 years.
Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982
Index to magazine articles published between 1890 - 1982. Provides citations and abstracts to more than 3 million articles from 375 leading magazines. Covers a wide variety of subjects.

Find Newspaper Articles

Image source: New York Times. 1918. Public domain. Wikimedia Commons.

New York Times | Historical
Provides PDF articles from the NYTimes from 1851 to the present, with the exception of the latest three years.

Primo

With Primo Search, you can find books, e-books, movies, music, audiobooks, full-text articles, images, dissertations, theses and more.