Faculty Resources & Services at the Library: E-Books

A guide to the library resources and services that are available to faculty.

Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary Academic Complete)

Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary Academic Complete) is an online database of over 100,000 full-text academic e-books. 

To create a permalink to an e-book from Ebook Central:

  • Click on the link to Ebook Central from the online database list.
  • Search for an e-book.
  • Click on the title of the e-book you want to view.
  • Click on the Share Link to Book option under the Book Cover (left-hand side).
  • Copy/paste the URL.

 

Ebook Central URLs will work on or off-campus.  They do not require the ezproxy prefix for off-campus access.

Sample URL from Ebook Central:

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/lvc-ebooks/detail.action?docID=510129

Disclaimer:  Our subscription to Ebook Central does not include perpetual access rights to the titles in the database.  Titles are added and removed from the database by the vendor on a regular basis. A permalink created for a specific title may fail in the future if the vendor removes access to that title in the future.

 

EBSCOhost eBook Collection

EbscoHost E-Books

 

The EBSCO eBooks collection (formerly NetLibrary) is an online database of over 12,000 full-text ebooks.  Unlike Ebrary which allows unlimited users to access the same e-book, only one user can view a particular e-book at a time.

To create a permalink to an e-book from EBSCOhost:

  • Click on the link to EBSCOhost eBooks from the online database list.
  • Search for an article.
  • Click on the article title.
  • Click on the "Permalink" option located on the right-hand side of the article page.
  • The Permalink URL will appear right above the title of the article.  Click on the URL to highlight it, and then right-click to copy/paste the URL.

 

Sample URL from EBSCOhost:

http://proxy-lvc.klnpa.org/login?url=http://.search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=92677&site=ehost-live