Faculty Resources & Services at the Library: Databases

A guide to the library resources and services that are available to faculty.

Online Databases

Bishop Library subscribes to over 150 subject-oriented databases, including newspaper, periodical and reference databases. 

You can view a list of databases by using the Articles & Databases search box on the Bishop Library website.

   

The databases are arranged alphabetically as well as by subject.  You can view them by subject by clicking the drop down menu at the top of the database list.  Click here to access the online database list.

 

Looking for Full Text

Some of the databases may have citations to articles, but not the full-text.  Make sure you click on the "Looking for Full Text" link. 

If you click on this link, the article linker will search other databases and e-journals, as well as the library's print  & microfilm journal listings to see if full-text is available.  If full-text is available online, you will be connected directly to the full-text article. 

If the library subscribes to the journal in print/microfilm format rather than online, you will get a results page listing the library holdings.   A copy of the journal article can be made in-house with a copier or microfilm machine.

If it isn't available online or the library doesn't own the journal, you will get a results page saying "full text is not available".  From that page, you can click on the link to place an Tipasa Interlibrary Loan request.  To learn more about Tipasa, click on the Tipasa tab in this LibGuide.