LibGuides: Ethics: Articles

Where to Begin

Where you should search depends upon your topic.

You'll be most successful if you search in a subject database that covers your topic.

For example, with a topic of the ethics of euthanasia, either Philosopher's Index or HealthSource would be excellent choices, depending upon what you'd like to emphasize.

HealthSource will emphasize the medical point of view, Philosopher's Index the philosophical point of view.

Interested in the ethics of outsourcing? Best bets: Business Source Complete or Philosopher's Index. The ethics of genetic engineering? PubMed or Philosopher's Index.

Image Source: Grafikę Stworzył. Compass. CC BY-SA 3.0. Wikimedia Commons.

Find Journal Articles

Search the following databases to locate journal articles on ethics.

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Covers ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journal articles (and magazine articles) in the humanities.
Covers archaeology, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, literary and social criticism, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, theology.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary scholarly journal articles. Use this to supplement more comprehensive and authoritative databases provided by Bishop Library.
Should *never* be the only database you search. Use it to supplement more comprehensive and authoritative library databases.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the environmental; useful for environmental ethics topics.
It includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers business; useful for ethical issues in business.
Provides full-text from over 2,000 journals and magazines. Also provides case studies.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Covers allied health and nursing; useful for medical ethics.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
Premier database for medicine; useful for medical ethics.
Covers medicine, biomedicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Contains full text for many of the journals. Coverage extends back to 1847, with full-text back to 1865.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Access 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE and life science journals.
Connect to LVC full-text with the Findit@LVC icon, found on the full article record.