Skip to Main Content

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Links to databases and resources for clinical mental health counseling.

Identify Tests & Measurements

It is challenging to find tests and measurements.  Be aware that: 

  • There is no one source that provides full-text copies of all available tests.
  • Many tests are owned by companies; they will charge a fee for their use.
  • Some tests may only be used or purchased by licensed professionals.
  • Tests may be discussed or published in journal articles or books. If the full text is available, you may need to contact the author directly for permission to use the test

Use the tabs above to identify tests or measurements. Realize, again, that only a relatively small number of these sources will freely provide you with the full-text of the test itself.

APA PsycInfo will usually just provide you with information about a test, or even a shortened version of it.  Rarely will it provide the full version. 

To focus your search in on tests and measurements, type your keywords into the search box. Click on the Select a Field Optional pull down, choose TM Tests & Measures. 

Get the Test From...

When you have a citation to a test that was first published within a journal article, book, or dissertation, you'll need to search within databases that provide access to those particular types of sources.  

Was it first found within a journal article?  To find the article, you'll need to search for the journal full-text first

First published or found within a book?  Search book sources for your book title.  Tabs above guide you to sources that'll help you locate the test.

Sometimes you can get a copy of the test directly from the author.  Run a Google search on the author's name.  Try using an exact phrase search--that is, put the author's name in between " ":  "Meredith McMillan".  The book or journal article that provided information on the test may also provide the author's institutional affiliation.  If that is the case, go directly to the institution's website.  See if you can locate a directory that'll provide you with contact information.

If you're dealing with a test from a commercial publisher, contact the publisher directly.

Google or other search engines, such as DuckDuckGo,  may be used to find tests or measurements. Most likely the tests you'll find with a Google search will have been created by governments or universities.

  1. Search for the official name of the test.  Best to use an exact phrase search, for example: "Multidimensional Introversion-Extraversion Scales".  Putting " " around a phrase glues those words together.  Without those " " the words will be searched glued together, but they will also be searched torn apart, resulting in a lot of irrelevant results.
  2. Try searching for the author's name.  Try multiple variations of the author's name James L. Smith, J. L. Smith, Smith, James Lee, etc. etc.  Again, experiment with the exact phrase search by using " " around the author's name.  Try also searching for the author's name AND part of the test name.
  3. Search for the website of the company or university where the author works; see if you can locate a directory that'll give you contact information.