Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Choose and Use Databases

Search well.

Multidisciplinary Databases

... try to cover all subjects.  This means that you'll usually find something on your topic, it's just that the depth of coverage will be shallow.  Subject-specific databases will offer more breadth and depth.  Below are several of LVC's multidisciplinary databases.

Database

Contents

Pros

Cons

 

Academic Search Ultimate

  • Mix of academic, popular, and news articles.
  • Mix of full-text and citation only.
  • Excellent breadth.
  • Detailed subject headings.
  • Good place to start when you're not sure what database to use.

 

  • Lack of depth.

 

 

JSTOR

 

  • Selection of core academic journals.
  • All full-text.

 

  • All journals go back to volume 1.
  • Full-text searching available.
  • Lacks most recent 3-5 years of most journals.
  • Difficult to search.
  • Irregular subject coverage: weak in some fields.

 

ArticleFirst

 

  • Index to the contents of over 16,000 journals.

 

  • Good breadth.
  • Coverage in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

 

  • Little full-text.
  • No subject terms.
  • Lack of depth.

 

OmniFile Full Text Mega

  • Access to over 2,800 full-text publications.
  • Indexes more than 5,100 publications.

 

  • Covers many disciplines including art, education, humanities, and technology.

 

  • Little depth.