Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Choose and Use Databases

Search well.

Find Full-Text

Link to Full-Text

Thelink links you to the full-text of the article that may be found in another database. 

  • Try Looking for Full-Text. If that doesn't work it will...
  • Provide you with a Get It link to the interlibrary loan form, where you can request a copy from another library.

About Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan is a service--libraries borrowing from other libraries for you.  It is a simple service to use--it's found underneath the Looking for Full-Text Link, which is provided within most of our databases.  If the Looking for Full-Text? link fails to find full-text, it will provide you with a Get It link. 

Interlibrary loan usually takes less than a week, sometimes less than a day.  And it's free!  Usually within 2-3 days you'll receive an email with a link to your article PDF.

Print, Download, Email

Most databases offer the option of printing, downloading, or emailing your results.

  • Select items of interest by checking the boxes next to the citations.
  • Once you have selected all your items, click on the print, email, or download option and follow the on-screen directions.

A few databases require you to first save items to a folder or bookbag. Then you can print or email the folder/bookbag's content.


Citation Management Software

If you're using a program like Zotero to manage your citations, many databases allow you to export directly into your citation lists.