LibGuides: ITG 499. Beliefs: Sources & Consequences : Articles

Where to Begin

Where you should search depends upon your topic.

Best databases for belief would be either PsychINFO, ATLA, or Philosopher's Index.

If you're looking at belief in a particular subject area, then take a look at a subject-specific database (for example, business, health, or education).

Image Source: Saffron Blaze. W. Lloyd MacKenzie. Ruins of the Temple of Apollo, Side, Antalya, Turkey. CC BY-3.0. Wikimedia Commons.

Find Journal Articles

Locate journal articles on beliefs in the databases below.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Covers virtually every discipline and subject area. Find here full-text academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on major religions, faiths, denominations presented in many different languages. Includes journal articles, books, reviews and essays.
Important topics covered include: Biblical Studies, World Religions, Church History, and Religion in Social Issues.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Provides full-text from over 2,000 journals and magazines. Also provides case studies.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Largest database of education journals and research reports.
Provides access to more than 1.6 million records for scholarly journal articles and ERIC documents (usually research reports), dissertations, conference proceedings--all focused on education.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journal articles (and magazine articles) in the humanities.
Covers archaeology, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, literary and social criticism, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, theology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of full-text scholarly academic journals. It contains good sources, but is difficult to search well--since it searches the FULL-TEXT of these articles. To focus your search, consider searching in the TITLE field only.
Covers the arts and humanities, education, law, social sciences, biology, general science. Does not provide the latest 3-5 years.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
Largest database of journal articles in the medical field.
Covers medicine, biomedicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Contains full text for many of the journals. Coverage extends back to 1847, with full-text back to 1865.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journals in philosophy.
Covers ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory and comparative politics.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Largest psychological journal article database. Covers the contents of over 2,000 journal titles as well as book chapters in behavioral science and mental health.
Covers the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and more. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,200 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Largest social sciences database, providing access to over 4,300 social sciences journal titles.
Subjects covered include: anthropology, economics, geography, law, political science, psychology, sociology.

Primo

With Primo Search, you can find books, e-books, movies, music, audiobooks, full-text articles, images, dissertations, theses and more.