Articles - COE 237 | Gender & Communication - LibGuides at Lebanon Valley College

Find Articles

What type of article do you need? A scholarly journal article? General/magazine article? A newspaper article? Sources below provide access to all of these.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Covers virtually every discipline and subject area. Find here full-text academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Articles found within economic journals.
Subjects covered include: capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations,
labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender-related scholarship. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism and gender identity.
Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective, 1907 - 1984 This link opens in a new window
Humanities and social sciences journal/magazine articles from 1907-1984.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Access to mostly scholarly journal articles (with some magazine articles) in the humanities.
Covers archaeology, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, literary and social criticism, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, theology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Covers the arts and humanities, education, law, social sciences, biology, general science. Does not provide the latest 3-5 years.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Essential index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, and theater. Covers journal articles, book chapters.
New York Times | Current This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the NYTimes from 1980 to the present.
Pictures, graphs, charts are not included. Includes the NYT Book Review from 1997 to the present, and the NYT Magazine from 1997 to the present.
New York Times | Historical This link opens in a new window
PDF images of the New York Times (1851-present) with the exception of the latest three years.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Largest psychological journal article database. Covers the contents of over 2,000 journal titles as well as book chapters in behavioral science and mental health.
Covers the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and more. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,200 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Covers articles from popular magazines on a wide variety of subjects. 1983- present.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Largest social sciences database, providing access to over 4,300 social sciences journal titles.
Subjects covered include: anthropology, economics, geography, law, political science, psychology, sociology.

General

General Magazines
Appearance	Color photographs, visually appealing, ads.
Audience	General public.
Author	Staff or freelance writer.
Content	Current events and special features.
References	Rarely cite sources.
Also Called	Popular magazines.

Scholarly

Scholarly Journals
Appearance	Generally have a sober, serious look. May contain graphs and charts, but will have few photographs or ads. Use scholarly language specific to the profession or field.
Audience	Academics, researchers, professionals.
Authors	Researchers or scholars in the field.
Content	Original scholarly research for a particular profession, field, or subject.
References	Will almost always include a list of citations, Works Cited, or Bibliography.
Also Called	Academic, peer-reviewed, juried, refereed. Scholarly journals that are reviewed by experts are called peer-reviewed, juried, or refereed. Not all scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.