LibGuides: Business Cases: Find

What is a Case Study?

Case studies, or teaching cases, are "documented studies of a specific real-life situation or imagined scenarios" that are often used by business schools or companies as a training tools. Usually they don't give a solution, as students are meant to analyze the situation and provide solutions.

"Case Study." BusinessDictionary.com Image source: Marcie L. Wagner, CC BY-3.0. Wikimedia Commons.

Case Study Articles

Case study articles are articles which describe a specific business situation and usually offer analysis and/or solutions. These may be found in peer reviewed, scholarly, or trade journals. You can find full-text case study articles using the two databases listed under the @ Bishop Library tab in the box below.

Find Business Cases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Provides full-text from over 2,000 journals and magazines. Also provides case studies.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes over 9,000 case studies. On the first line of the search box, type in "case studies". Click on the SELECT A FIELD OPTIONAL box to the right of "case studies" search box, choose SUBJECT. Limit your search by adding relevant keywords on the second search box line.
Also provides product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports.

Topics covered include finance, management, international business, human resources and marketing.

Business Case Studies
UK.
Oikos Case Studies
Cases on sustainability in courses on management, finance and entrepreneurship.
LearningEdge
MIT Sloan. Offers free case studies, but requires registration.

Case Centre
Non-profit organization is based in the UK and distributes a large collection of management case studies. Includes case studies from many major international business schools. $4.00-$5.00.
Harvard Business Review
Harvard Business Review Web Store homepage. Search by company name or topic. Abstracts are usually included. Limit search to case studies by clicking "Case Studies" in the left column. Instructors may register for "Educator access". $9.00 per case study.
Ivey Publishing
Collection of over 22,000 cases from around the world. Price varies, $9-11.