Skip to Main Content

How to Use SciFinder N

How to use the world's largest chemical information database to find chemical references, compounds, and reactions.

New Features

Retrosynthesis Planner

  • ​​​​​​Generate a full retrosynthetic analysis of all known synthetic routes for any known molecule
  • Organize synthetic routes in a convenient, easy to navigate synthetic plan
  • Access the commercial source information for reagents, quickly and easily
  • Save, download and share selected synthetic routes and plans with key stakeholders

PatentPak

  • View full-text patents for reference, reaction, or substance search results.
  • Covers 46 major patent offices and returns patents in multiple languages,  using reactions, claim language, chemical names, and structures. Converts PDFs to a searchable format through OCR.
  • Download multiple PDFs in multiple tabs.

 

MethodsNow

  • Gives you access to step-by-step procedures and protocols from patents and journals.
  • Access via filtering reaction search results by Experimental Protocols -> Synthetic Methods. Provides the procedure; products, reactants, and reagents; links to substance detail; and characterization information for reaction step.
  • Download procedures or load them to an Electronic Lab Notebook (ELN).

 

ChemDoodle

  • Touchscreen-capable structure drawing/editing tool available alongside CAS Draw in SciFindern.
  • Any structures drawn or edited in CAS Draw carry over to ChemDoodle.

Additonal Features

  • Search All option. Search across the substance, reaction, and references databases.
  • Utilyzes boolean operators, truncation/wildcards, parentheses, e.g. (flavor OR odor) AND menthol.
  • Combination keyword and structure searching.
  • Autosuggest.  Offers ideas for additional search terms.
  • Relevance ranking of search results.
  • Reaction search results grouped by scheme (same reactants and products).
  • Search History.  Edit and rerun all past searches.
  • Connect to LVC's full-text.  Clearer labelling, easier access.
  • Citation mapping. Citation search forwards and backwards.
  • Combined search functionality. Two authors, author(s)/journal, author(s)/organization, two substance property data points.
  • Automatic deduping of CAS/MEDLINE records.
  • Search in multiple tabs.
  • Additional limiters. In results screen, limits are available for date ranges, author, organization, concept, formulation, database.