Find Articles - PSY 110 | General Psychology - LibGuides at Lebanon Valley College

Identify a Scholarly Journal Article

Unsure what a scholarly journal article looks like? This Interactive tutorial identifies sections that should appear in a scholarly journal article.

Primo

With Primo Search, you can find books & e-books, movies & music, audiobooks, full-text articles, images, dissertations & theses, and more.

Where to Begin

The databases listed below are most appropriate for psychology topics.

A good starting point: APA PsycINFO.

Image Source: Hermann Rorschach."Inkblot" Public Domain. Wikimedia Commons.

Find Journal Articles

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the field of psychology. Indexes over 2100 journals.
From the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
Covers the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and more. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,200 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from the social sciences.
Subjects covered include: anthropology, economics, geography, law, political science, psychology, sociology.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches many subject areas for scholarly literature-- peer-reviewed articles, as well as theses and books. It should never be the only database you search, but can complement the databases listed above. If you find the perfect article, you can search for the article in Google Scholar to see how many future articles reference the perfect article which will give you more resources.
Should *never* be the only database you search. Use it to supplement more comprehensive and authoritative library databases.