Request materials not owned by LVC via Tipasa, LVC's Interlibrary Loan system. Interlibrary Loan is a service that provides articles/materials you find from other libraries.
Almost every LVC Library database will provide a Looking for Full-Text? link on each result. If that fails to connect you to full-text, you'll be given an option to Request this Item through LVC Tipasa.
You can also request materials via Interlibrary Loan from the library's homepage Under the Get Help & Support pull down at the top of the page.
With Interlibrary Loan, you'll either get a PDF of the journal or magazine article or a hard copy that will need to be returned.
Allow 2-3 days for an article; allow up to 2 weeks for books or media.
Where Should I Begin?
Begin your search in Museum Studies. It will provide you with articles and books on museology.
The CAMEO database contains chemical, physical, visual, and analytical information on over 10,000 historic and contemporary materials used in the production and conservation of artistic, architectural, archaeological, and anthropological materials.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) cover European art from late Antiquity to the present; American art from the European arrival to the present and Christian and European art in Africa, Asia, and Australia. RILA covers the years 1975 – 1989; BHA from 1990 - 2007.
Index to scholarship on Western art from late antiquity to the early 21st century, with a focus on European art from the medieval through modern periods. Includes foreign language scholarship.
Covers scholarly material published between 1975 and 2007. Contains records for art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from over 1200 periodicals in many languages. Does not provide full-text.
Google Scholar is a search engine that searches the full text of scholarly journals across many subject areas, or disciplines. A significant problem with Google Scholar is the secrecy about its coverage. Still...a useful source to check.
Should *never* be the only database you search. Use it to supplement more comprehensive and authoritative library databases.
Difficult to search. JSTOR offers full-text access to art and art history journals. JSTOR does not provide current issues; it provides access to journals typically 1-5 years prior to the current date. Limit to art history in area content when searching.
Covers the arts and humanities, education, law, social sciences, biology, general science. Does not provide the latest 3-5 years.