LibGuides: Philosophy: Articles

Where to Begin

The databases listed below are most appropriate for philosophy topics.

A good starting point: Philosopher's Index.

Image source: Pufacz. The Thinker. Sculpture by Auguste Rodin. Public Domain. Wikimedia Commons.

Find

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text journal articles in many subject areas. Not the best place to look for philosophy articles; still, may be useful.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research in the major fields of philosophy. Provides citations/abstracts to journal articles; some full-text.
Covers ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journal articles (and magazine articles) in the humanities.
Covers archaeology, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, literary and social criticism, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, theology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Difficult to search. JSTOR offers full-text access to some philosophy journals. JSTOR does not provide current issues; it provides access to journals typically 1-5 years prior to the current date. Limit to philosophy in area content when searching.
Covers the arts and humanities, education, law, social sciences, biology, general science. Does not provide the latest 3-5 years.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Will be useful for political philosophy.

Get

Request materials not owned by LVC via Tipasa, LVC's Interlibrary Loan system. Interlibrary Loan is a service that provides articles/materials you find from other libraries.

Almost every LVC Library database will provide a Looking for Full-Text? link on each result. If that fails to connect you to full-text, you'll be given an option to Request this Item through LVC Tipasa.

You can also request materials via Interlibrary Loan from the library's homepage Under the Get Help & Support pull down at the top of the page.

With Interlibrary Loan, you'll either get a PDF of the journal or magazine article or a hard copy that will need to be returned.

Allow 2-3 days for an article; allow up to 2 weeks for books or media.