Economics: Working Papers

An introduction to economic resources.

What are Working Papers?

The economics field has a strong tradition of working papers.   

Working papers are preliminary papers, released before publication.  This enables the sharing of ideas and allows for the elicitation of feedback prior to submission to a book, conference, or scholarly journal.   

Working papers provide the latest research, bypassing the delays involved in publishing within academic journals.  

Working papers are authored by:

  • Researchers at universities; 
  • Governmental bodies, NGOs, research centers and professional organizations, such as the Federal Reserve System, the World Bank, the National Bureau of Economic Research, etc.

Image source: Quinn Dombrowski.  Flickr.  CC BY-SA 2.0.

Find Working Papers

The largest bibliographic database freely available that is dedicated to economics.  RePEc is a collaborative database of working papers, journal articles and software components.

A service providing scholarly research papers, working papers, and journals in numerous social science disciplines.  Uploading and searching working papers is free; a number of fee-based sources are also available. 

A great place for cutting-edge economic research covering a broad variety of topics. Some papers are freely available, others not.  Their full-text archive of working papers covers 1973-present.

A free, comprehensive index to economic research publications of the Federal Reserve. Covers 1970s-present.

Free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics. Covers 1995-present.

EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is a comprehensive index to the literature of economics. To limit your search to just working papers, use the advanced search mode and add the following to your keyword search:  (ZT "working paper").