Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Where to Publish Scholarly Journal Articles

Information on publishing in a scholarly journal.

Journal Indexing

Make sure the journal is indexed in a database, otherwise it will be difficult for others to find your article. 

Be wary, too, of disreputable publishers who may falsely claim their journal is indexed in a particular database or with a particular vendor.

Always double check a publisher's claims.  

If the publisher tells you that a vendor (EBSCO or ProQuest, for example) indexes the journal--be leery.  Vendors like EBSCO and ProQuest produce many different databases; the publisher should provide you with a specific database name.

Find indexing information for your journal in The Serials Directory.

Where is the Journal Indexed?

To find where the journal is indexed:

  • The Serials Directory.  Provides indexing information for over 250,000 journals.
  • Journal Finder lists over 75,000 journal titles LVC has access to.  Most journals listed will provide a link to the database the journal is indexed within.
  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory provides information on where the journal is indexed in the abstracting & indexing section of the journal record.
  • LVC subscribes to over 176 databases; most contain journal title lists.  
  • EBSCO title lists.
  • ProQuest title lists.
  • JSTOR title list.

Not enough time to track down this information?  Contact an LVC Librarian. We'll be happy to find where the journal is indexed.