LibGuides: BIO 500: Independent Study: Articles

Where to Begin

Databases listed to the right are most appropriate for finding journal articles on Artemia.

Image: Brine shrimp (Artemia salina) nauplius larvae stained with eosin. Mike Davidson, Florida State University. Google Images, Free to Share or Use search.

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles from essential biology and agricultural research journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searching for slightly older biological information? Try JSTOR.
Covers the arts and humanities, education, law, social sciences, biology, general science. Does not provide the latest 3-5 years.
SciFinder N This link opens in a new window
Focusing on biochemistry? Try SciFinder. New Users must register first.
Find additional information, tutorials, guides on SciFinder N here.
SciFinder N | New User Registration This link opens in a new window
You must use your LVC email address to register. Access for current faculty, students and staff.
Access for current LVC faculty, students and staff only.

Find

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles from essential biology and agricultural research journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text archive of 179 research journals in the biological sciences. JSTOR does not provide access to current issues; it provides full-text of journals typically 1-5 years prior to the current date. It is somewhat difficult to search.
Covers the arts and humanities, education, law, social sciences, biology, general science. Does not provide the latest 3-5 years.
SciFinder N This link opens in a new window
Useful for biochemical literature. Will need to create a SciFinder account to login.
Find additional information, tutorials, guides on SciFinder N here.
SciFinder N | New User Registration This link opens in a new window
This link will take you to a registration page which will allow you to set up a user account with SciFinder. You must use your LVC email address to register.
Access for current LVC faculty, students and staff only.

Primo
Discovery search tool that you can use to begin your research or to find additional resources. Primo does not search everything the library has access to; it should not be used exclusively. It can, however, be a valuable additional resource.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multi-purpose general database.
PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly journal articles. Will be useful for citation searches--finding which articles have cited one of your good articles found in another database. Run a search of the title of your good article--if GS pulls up the good article in the results, you'll see a CITED BY link--that'll provide you with a list of articles in GS that have cited YOUR article.
Should *never* be the only database you search. Use it to supplement more comprehensive and authoritative library databases.

.

Image source: Popular Science Monthly Magazine. 1873-1874. Public domain. Wikimedia Commons.