LibGuides: PHL 229: Culture & Conflict: Articles

Where to Begin

The databases listed to the right are most appropriate for 60's and 70's topics.

A good starting point: Social Sciences Full Text.

Image: Richard Nixon Library. Public Domain. Wikimedia Commons.

Find Journal Articles

America: History & Life Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
ASP allows you to search for important journal articles in many subject areas. Full-text and citations/abstracts.
Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective, 1907 - 1984 This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to journal articles from a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals published from 1907-1984.
Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Useful for finding magazine articles published in the 60's and 70's.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields.
Covers ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive coverage on global political topics with full text for more than 520 journals and indexing/abstracting for over 2,900 titles.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the social sciences. Indexes over 625 journals; nearly 400 are peer-reviewed. Provides full-text articles and citations/abstracts.
Subjects covered include: anthropology, economics, geography, law, political science, psychology, sociology.

Find Newspaper Articles

Wall Street Journal | Current This link opens in a new window
1984 - present. Full-text. No charts, pictures, graphs.
Wall Street Journal | Historical This link opens in a new window
1889 to 1993. PDF.
New York Times | Current This link opens in a new window
1980 - present. Full-text. No charts, pictures or graphs.
Pictures, graphs, charts are not included. Includes the NYT Book Review from 1997 to the present, and the NYT Magazine from 1997 to the present.
New York Times | Historical This link opens in a new window
1851 to four years prior to the current year. PDF.

Get

Request materials not owned by LVC via Tipasa, LVC's Interlibrary Loan system. Interlibrary Loan is a service that provides articles/materials you find from other libraries.

Almost every LVC Library database will provide a Looking for Full-Text? link on each result. If that fails to connect you to full-text, you'll be given an option to Request this Item through LVC Tipasa.

You can also request materials via Interlibrary Loan from the library's homepage Under the Get Help & Support pull down at the top of the page.

With Interlibrary Loan, you'll either get a PDF of the journal or magazine article or a hard copy that will need to be returned.

Allow 2-3 days for an article; allow up to 2 weeks for books or media.