This is the "Home" page of the "E-Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This guide provides an overview of e-books and various e-book collections that can be accessed through the library.
Last Updated: Aug 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lvc.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

This guide will provide an overview of e-books and will examine the e-book collections accessible through Bishop Library.  

 

Image Source: Arz at lt.wikipedia [Public domain], from Wikimedia Commons

 

What are E-Books?

An e-book or electronic book is a "digital file containing a body of text and images suitable for distributing electronically and displaying on-screen in a manner similar to a printed book."

e-book. (2012). In Encyclopædia Britannica. Retrieved from http://ezproxy.lvc.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/1235205/e-book

 

E-Book Formats

E-books come in various formats, depending upon the publisher or provider of the e-book.  Some formats are industry standards (ePub, PDF) while others may be proprietary to a specific company (MOBI - Amazon Kindle).

To learn more about e-book formats, go to:  http://ebookarchitects.com/conversions/formats.php

 

E-Book Collections

The library subscribes to general e-book collections, such as Ebrary and EBSCOhost eBooks, that cover a wide-range of subject areas. The library also has access to specialized e-book collections through online databases such as:

Additionally, you can search for millions of e-books (many in the public domain) by using search interfaces such as Google Books and the library's new discovery interface, Summon.

Click on the tabs above to learn more about the different e-book collections that you can access through the library.  Most collections will allow you to print and/or download to PDF sections or pages from the e-books.  Ebrary also offers downloading of entire e-books for a 14 day loan (not supported for Kindle e-readers).

 

Digital Rights Management

Digital Rights management (DRM) is used to control access to copyrighted digital materials such as printing, copying and sharing. 

So, if an e-book has DRM protection, you may need an additional piece of software, such as Adobe Digital Editions, to be able to view the protected e-book on your e-reader or other mobile device.

To learn more about Digital Rights management, go to: http://ezproxy.lvc.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/1055407/digital-rights-management-DRM

Systems & Electronic Services Librarian

Profile Image
Lori Nyce
Contact Info
Bishop Library
Lebanon Valley College
101 North College Avenue
Annville, PA 17003-1400
(717) 867-6973
nyce@lvc.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip