Bishop Library Assessment: Statistics

Information, reports and data related to the assessment of Bishop Library.

Building Usage

The library keeps a daily count of how many people enter/leave the building each day.  Gate counts below show building usage on a monthly basis over multiple years.

Database Usage

Many of our database and journal vendors provide statistics on a monthly basis.  We use COUNTER compliant statistics whenever available. 

These database use statistics show the number of searches and sessions for each database as well as the top ten frequently searched databases.

Digital Archives Usage

The LVC online archives or digital archives are hosted on the Internet Archive website.  Download statistics from the Internet Archive are listed below.

The digital archives downloads below include three College publications: course catalogs (1866-2010), The Valley, a semi-annual magazine for alumni and friends of the College (1984-2006), and the College yearbook, The Bizarre (1899-1902, 1904-1915)/ Quittapahilla (1916-2010).  

Recently added to the digital archives are various LVC newspapers and publications including La Vie CollegienneThe Quad, The CrucibleCollege News, The Forum, and The College Forum. Statistics are listed below for these newspapers along with statistics for The President's Report.

Statistics below are cumulative counts compiled in April of each year.

Events in the Library

Full-Text Article Retrievals

Many of our database and journal vendors provide statistics on a monthly basis.  We use COUNTER compliant statistics whenever available.  The full-text retrieval statistics show the number of full-text articles accessed (either PDF or html) by publisher or vendor.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan statistics are pulled from the ILLiad system on a monthly/yearly basis.

LibGuide Usage

LibGuides are web 2.0 research and instructional guides created by LVC librarians.  LibGuide statistics show the number of hits per guide for the academic year.

Library Instruction

Instructions statistics include the number of classes taught, course numbers taught, and the number of students attending each class. 

Library-Related Events

Occupancy Counts

A typical week is picked in the fall semester to track hourly occupancy of the library. The document below summarizes the fall occupancy counts over multiple years.

Reference Questions

Reference statistics are pulled from the LibAnswers system on a monthly/yearly basis.  

Study Room Usage

Statistics below are gathered from LibCal (room scheduling software).  Number represents study rooms reserved (and not cancelled later on).

Technology Usage

Circulation statistics on library laptops and iPads.