Articles - REL 280 | Method and Theory in Religion - LibGuides at Lebanon Valley College

Where to Begin

Where you should search depends upon your topic. Best database for religion is ATLA.

If you want to focus on the sociological aspects of religion, try Social Sciences Full Text.

Searching for the psychological approach? PsycINFO is where you should begin.

Interested in the historical approach? Try Historical Abstracts, a database that covers history.

Image Source: Saffron Blaze. W. Lloyd MacKenzie. Ruins of the Temple of Apollo, Side, Antalya, Turkey. CC BY-3.0. Wikimedia Commons.

Find Journal Articles

Locate journal articles on religion/philosophy in the databases below.

ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Over 1.8 million journal articles covering the research of religion in over 60 languages.
Important topics covered include: Biblical Studies, World Religions, Church History, and Religion in Social Issues.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary.
America: History & Life Full Text This link opens in a new window
Historical perspective on religion. Covers America and Canada. Journal articles, dissertations.
Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective, 1907 - 1984 This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles from a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals from 1907-1984.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Covers the humanities, including religion and philosophy.
Covers archaeology, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, literary and social criticism, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, theology.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Philosophical aspects of religion.
Covers ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on the sociological aspects of religion.
Subjects covered include: anthropology, economics, geography, law, political science, psychology, sociology.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary; use this to supplement more comprehensive and authoritative databases provided by Bishop Library. Scholarly journal articles.
Should *never* be the only database you search. Use it to supplement more comprehensive and authoritative library databases.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary. Contains full-text back issues of over 1,700 academic journals. Focuses on older rather than current issues--there is typically a gap of three to five years between the content available in this resource and the latest print issue. Difficult to find relevant results (since it searches the full-text of all articles).
Covers the arts and humanities, education, law, social sciences, biology, general science. Does not provide the latest 3-5 years.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Psychological aspects of religion. Some full-text.
Covers the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and more. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,200 periodicals in dozens of languages.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Essential index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, and theater. Covers journal articles, book chapters.

Primo

With Primo Search, you can find books, e-books, movies, music, audiobooks, full-text articles, images, dissertations, theses and more.