Articles - ENG 120 | Introduction to Literature - LibGuides at Lebanon Valley College

Find Journal Articles

The databases listed below are most appropriate for literary criticism and critical movie reviews. A good starting point: MLA International Bibliography.

Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective, 1907 - 1984 This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to journal articles from a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals published from 1907-1984.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles related to the humanities. Includes coverage of film, performing arts, and world literature.
Covers archaeology, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, literary and social criticism, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, theology.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Essential index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, and theater. Covers journal articles, book chapters.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
1982-present. Useful for film/movie/motion picture reviews. Best search--your film title AND "motion picture reviews".
Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
1890-1982. Useful for film/movie/motion picture reviews. Best search--your film title AND "motion picture reviews".

Find Newspaper Articles

New York Times | Historical This link opens in a new window
Useful for film reviews. 1851 to four years prior to the current year. PDF.
New York Times | Current This link opens in a new window
Useful for film reviews. 1980 - present. Full-text. No charts, pictures or graphs.
Pictures, graphs, charts are not included. Includes the NYT Book Review from 1997 to the present, and the NYT Magazine from 1997 to the present.

Image source: Movie strip. Chris. CC BY-SA 3.0. Wikimedia Commons.

Get

Request materials not owned by LVC via Tipasa, LVC's Interlibrary Loan system. Interlibrary Loan is a service that provides articles/materials you find from other libraries.

Almost every LVC Library database will provide a Looking for Full-Text? link on each result. If that fails to connect you to full-text, you'll be given an option to Request this Item through LVC Tipasa.

You can also request materials via Interlibrary Loan from the library's homepage Under the Get Help & Support pull down at the top of the page.

With Interlibrary Loan, you'll either get a PDF of the journal or magazine article or a hard copy that will need to be returned.

Allow 2-3 days for an article; allow up to 2 weeks for books or media.