Financials & Risks - MBS 373 | Music Industry Entrepreneurship

Financial

Find a similar public company and benchmark their financials.

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Print book in LVC reference collection. Use industry ratios to benchmark against industry averages. Reports on 192 industries and uses the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). The NAICS system divides the economy into twenty sectors, five in the predominantly goods producing area, and 15 in the service producing area.
EDGAR
Financial reports and filings submitted by US publicly traded companies to the US Securities and Exchange Commission. Includes press releases, quarterly (10-Q) and annual (10-K) reports, insider trading reports, and more. 10-K reports give very detailed information about a company's products, businesses, operations, competitors, and markets.
RMA Annual Statement Studies
Print book in LVC reference collection. Contains composite financial data. Financial statements on each industry are shown in common size, accompanied by widely used ratios. Arranged in ascending SIC numerical order.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides financial information for over 23,000 U.S. and international companies. Allows you to export data into Excel. *Limited to 3 concurrent users.* If you are denied access, try again in a few minutes. When finished, please log out.
Includes 30 years of historical stock prices, SEC filings, financials for 15 years "as reported".
NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Includes company financial data, Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook.

Risks

Risks for corporations are outlined in 10-K reports. To get a sense of risk, one must understand the market. Reading trade publications, looking at sources that may include similar companies may lead you to risk factors to consider.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for your industry/company/service AND (risk OR risks). Includes full text for business and trade journals,
Provides full-text from over 2,000 journals and magazines. Also provides case studies.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for your company/service/industry AND (risk OR risks). Full-text business journals/magazines.
Also provides product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports.

Topics covered include finance, management, international business, human resources and marketing.

EDGAR
Financial reports and filings submitted by US publicly traded companies to the US Securities and Exchange Commission. Includes press releases, quarterly (10-Q) and annual (10-K) reports, insider trading reports, and more. 10-K reports give very detailed information about a company's products, businesses, operations, competitors, and markets.