LibGuides: Company & Industry Information: Industry

Industry

NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Industry Surveys in NetAdvantage provide a broad and fundamental overview of each industry's structure, its recent performance, and an analysis of trends that will influence it in the future.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Provides full-text from over 2,000 journals and magazines. Also provides case studies.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides lengthy full-text dossiers on specific industries.
Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Statistics for Specific Industries
US Census data for specific industries.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics on specific industries.
Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Valuation Resources
Covers more than 400 industries: organized by SIC code, resources are aggregated from available from trade associations, industry publications, and research firms which address subjects such as industry overview, issues, trends, industry outlook, financial bench marking, compensation surveys, and valuation resources. Some sources require a fee.

NAICS or SICS ?

Industry research is often most successful if you know the NAICS for your industry. Many business information sources use SIC and NAICS codes as access points.

NAICS, or the North American Industry Classification System, has been used by government and business since 1997 to standardize the classification of industries.

SIC stands for Standard Industrial Classification code; SIC codes are no longer officially in use, although you will see still SIC's in business sources.

Search for your industry's NAICS or SIC at Logistics.

By RMajouji. CC-BY-2.5. Wikimedia Commons.