LibGuides: Art & Art History: Journal Articles

Where Should I Begin?

Begin your search in Art and Architectural Source: It is the largest art database, and will provide you with scholarly journal articles.

No luck? Try JSTOR .

Image Source: Van Gogh. Public Domain. Wikimedia Commons.

Find Journal Articles

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as various areas of architecture and architectural design.
With strong international coverage, it offers access to over 600 full-text art journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images.
BHA & RILA This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) cover European art from late Antiquity to the present; American art from the European arrival to the present and Christian and European art in Africa, Asia, and Australia. RILA covers the years 1975 – 1989; BHA from 1990 - 2007.
Index to scholarship on Western art from late antiquity to the early 21st century, with a focus on European art from the medieval through modern periods. Includes foreign language scholarship.

Covers scholarly material published between 1975 and 2007. Contains records for art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from over 1200 periodicals in many languages. Does not provide full-text.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journal articles (and magazine articles) in the humanities.
Covers archaeology, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, literary and social criticism, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, theology.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary database of full-text journals, magazines, and some newspapers.
America: History & Life Full Text This link opens in a new window
Use this database to locate articles pertaining to the history-- including art history--of the United States and Canada.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a search engine that searches the full text of scholarly journals across many subject areas, or disciplines. A significant problem with Google Scholar is the secrecy about its coverage. Still...a useful source to check.
Should *never* be the only database you search. Use it to supplement more comprehensive and authoritative library databases.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers world history, from the 15th century to the present.
Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective, 1907 - 1984 This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles published between 1907 and 1984 in the broad areas of the humanities and social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers full-text access to art and art history journals. JSTOR does not provide current issues; it provides access to journals typically 1-5 years prior to the current date. Limit to art history in area content when searching.
Covers the arts and humanities, education, law, social sciences, biology, general science. Does not provide the latest 3-5 years.

How to Search Effectively

Learn how to search more effectively.

Get

Request materials not owned by LVC via Tipasa, LVC's Interlibrary Loan system. Interlibrary Loan is a service that provides articles/materials you find from other libraries.

Almost every LVC Library database will provide a Looking for Full-Text? link on each result. If that fails to connect you to full-text, you'll be given an option to Request this Item through LVC Tipasa.

You can also request materials via Interlibrary Loan from the library's homepage Under the Get Help & Support pull down at the top of the page.

With Interlibrary Loan, you'll either get a PDF of the journal or magazine article or a hard copy that will need to be returned.

Allow 2-3 days for an article; allow up to 2 weeks for books or media.

Primo

With Primo Search, you can find books, e-books, movies, music, audiobooks, full-text articles, images, dissertations, theses and more.

Art & Art History

How Do I Find a Scholarly Journal Article?

Scholarly or General?

Peer-Reviewed

Where Should I Begin?

Find Journal Articles

How to Search Effectively

Get

Primo